Posted by: runningwinegirl | September 8, 2010

Enjoying a Delicious California wine for Cabernet Day

I continue to love how wine and social media connect people. Thursday, September 2 was Cabernet day, where, thanks to Rick Bakas and St. Supery, wine lovers from all over this world gathered to enjoy their favorite Cabernet Sauvignon.  It’s no secret Cabernet is a favorite and I can’t get enough of it. I was so excited when a friend of mine out in Paso Robles gifted me with the 06 Pomar Junction Cabernet. I’d never heard of this winery and I love a good California Cab so I was so excited to try this wine.

I was enjoying this day with friends who also appreciate wine. However, upon opening the Pomar, I admit, I was given a pilsner glass to drink it out of and knew I wouldn’t get the full benefits of tasting this wine from the wrong glassware. Happily a wine glass was discovered but it wasn’t until later when I got home that I truly tasted this wine and it was delicious. I broke out my Riedel glass and yes, it really does make a difference. On the nose I got blackberry and it was a gorgeous ruby red in the light. On the palate, I tasted blackberry and black cherry. This wine is intense, full and has a delicious velvety finish. I love it and will be ordering more. That night we paired it with Bison burgers and garlic mashed potatoes. It was yummy.

The next night I finished the bottle, pairing it with grilled chicken I marinated in a garlic, balsamic, white wine marinade. It was wonderful with the balsamic, which surprised me. I need to continue to explore the wineries in Central California. While talking to my mom and looking at a map, we realized that we’d be around that area when I was a child and are now talking about going back to visit the wine country. In the meantime, I’m looking into other wineries and seeing what I can get my hands on. No doubt California is continuing to produce excellent reds.

As for Cabernet day, it was a huge success and shows how much wine and social media connect this world. When looking at stats from the day on WTHashTag here’s what I found for the past seven days:

In the last 7 days:
6,280 tweets
1,615 contributors
897.1 tweets per day
10.5% come from “The Top 10”
33.1% are retweets
68.6% are mentions
22.0% have multiple hashtags

I learned about so many new Cabernets and connected with so many new people. It’s a great opportunity to get together with fellow wine lovers and mingle while sipping something delicious. I’m excited for the #Holidaywines event coming up in November. Come out and join us!

Leave a Reply

Categories

