Posted by: runningwinegirl | September 1, 2010

Hume Vineyard, A New Winery and A Must Visit

I’m an adventurous girl who loves to explore and try new things. It was on my way to Chateau O’Brien that I first saw a sign for Hume Vineyards and my curiosity rose as I’ve not seen or heard a thing about this winery. This past weekend I had Saturday free, which is rare, and decided it was time to explore some more Virginia wine country. Off to Hume I went and I was excited to see what this brand new winery had to offer.

A perk to this winery is it’s close to so many others. You pass Philip Carter and there are signs to both Oasis and Rappahannock Cellars on the way. The trip into Hume is pretty and again has it’s own charm and beauty like many VA wineries. Upon entering a cute but simple barn with a tasting bar and nothing else, the owners, Stefan and Andrea Baldi, greeted me and let a group of us know they’d be right with us. It was a warm and fun atmosphere with energy and I couldn’t wait to start tasting.

I was happy to have Stefan pouring for the group and we started with the 09 Vidal Blanc. I immediately picked up grapefruit on the nose and was surprised when sipping to find this is more medium bodied than I expected. I tasted kiwi on the palate and found this to be really refreshing and delicious. Everyone at the bar was smiling about it when tasting. Next we moved to the 09 Chambourcin, aged six months in neutral oak, and I was a little nervous after getting raisins on the nose. However, on the palate I tasted dark fruit, a touch of spice and a velvety finish. I had to swirl this a lot and while doing that Stefan told me that he typically recommends people aerate it first. I agree but regardless this was a wonderful red.

The third wine of the day was the 08 Detour, a blend of 85% Cabernet Sauvignon and 15% Merlot and aged 18 months in neutral oak.  I have delicious written twice on my tasting sheet for this one, which isn’t a surprise being that this blend is primarily Cabernet Sauvignon. It was a little tight at first but the dark fruit came out with the wonderful structure. There is complexity in this wine that will come out with age and I’ll be laying a bottle down for a few years. I really loved it.  The 08 Cabernet Sauvignon finished the tasting and this was my favorite. It was earthy with black cherry and vanilla to balance that out followed by a velvety finish. I did bring a bottle of this home with me and I’ll be bringing more home the next time. All of these reds can be laid down for 3-5 years. I loved everything I tasted and watching other’s taste and leave I’m not alone. Everyone had a glass or two there and left with bottles of wine.

Towards the end of the day, I had the pleasure of talking to Stefan, who is from the wine country of France.  The winery had its grand opening this past July 10, so they are still in the midst of constructing around the grounds. He will be harvesting grapes this year and is currently buying grapes from Breaux. He is also consulting with Dave Collins, Breaux’s winemaker. What I loved hearing is that the wines being offered are the grape that are growing. This winery knows what they are doing and when I asked if he was growing in a more old world or new world style, I was told it was more old world style.  Currently Stefan is growing Merlot, Voignier, Petit Verdot, and Chambourcin. He plans in the spring to plant Sauvignon Blanc and down the road Cabernet Sauvignon and Cabernet Franc. I look forward to it all and can’t wait to go back. This is a dog friendly winery, which means Baxter can join me. I always like that.  If you haven’t made it here yet, I recommend packing a picnic and visiting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

