Posted by: runningwinegirl | August 30, 2010

Girls Day, Sunset Saturday, Delicious wines at Delaplane Cellars

It’s been a busy summer and I can’t believe it’s September on Wednesday. Virginia has been hot and I’m still not use to the humidity. However that hasn’t stopped me from enjoying the wineries and I had two awesome visits to Delaplane Cellars over two Saturdays. I was long overdue for a girls day and after talking to my friend Melissa, we decided to head back to Delaplane Cellars to replace our bottles of the Left Bank Bordeaux and enjoy a relaxing afternoon at one of our favorite wineries.

I was thrilled to see the parking lot full when we arrived and while it was cloudy, the view was still gorgeous and it was dry. I’d been to Delaplane back on July 4th so I didn’t need to do a tasting this time around. We got ourselves a bottle of the 07 Left Bank Bordeaux, an order of fresh bread and broke out our cheese for a delightful day. I always meet the nicest people at Delaplane and it was great to see Autumn, the tasting room manager, as well Jim Dolphin, the owner.

Back in July Jim let me know he was pulling what he had left of the 07 Syrah and aging it as well as offering it to club members only. I was fortunate to taste it that last time and see how much it improved from the first time I tried it back in January. I brought home a bottle and will be aging it as well. However, while asking Jim about the 07 Left Bank Bordeaux and how much was left, he offered to take Melissa and I down for a barrel tasting of the 08 Left Bank Bordeaux as well as the Syrah and a new red blend.

The 08 Left Bank Bordeaux has Tannat in the blend unlike the 07, which consists of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Cabernet Franc. The 08 Left Bank is more fruit forward than the 07 and I loved how full it is along with a delightful finish. There is a slight earthiness to it but not as much as the 07. I loved it.  Next we were spoiled with the Syrah. Unlike the 07 Syrah, this wine is aged in New American Oak and is 86% Syrah and 14% Tannat.  This was so yummy and while I’m excited to age and enjoy the 07, I can’t wait till this is released. Last, Jim let us taste the Williams Gap, a delicious red Bordeaux blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cab Franc, Merlot and Petit Verdot. This was my favorite of the three.

The following weekend was my first time going to Delaplane’s Sunset Saturday where they bring in live music and stay open until 9 pm. I was out with my good friends and we were surrounded by a lively group of people. Two birthdays were celebrated that night and we all sang Happy Birthday.  Logan Kraft and Katie Ribik were performing and I have to say they were singing some of my absolute favorite songs that included Paul Simon and Jimmy Buffet.  These two harmonize well and are wonderful entertainers. Logan has his own band and Katie performs around the DC/VA area at events as well as teaches guitar and piano. I look forward to seeing these two perform again. This is the second live music act I’ve seen at Delaplane and I can’t wait to come back to the next one. I love the style and it’s clear there are a lot of talented musicians in Virginia.

It’s rare I go back to a winery two weekends in a row but that says something about Delaplane as a newer VA winery. I was so excited when Jim came out to say hello and to let us know the wines we’d tasted that last week are now bottled. I’m ready for them and if you haven’t been to Delaplane yet, I highly recommend visiting. The tasting room is gorgeous as are the views from outside. The fall is going to be an amazing time to get there and if you’re a red wine lover, watch for the release of the 08 Left Bank Bordeaux, Syrah and William’s Gap. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

