Posted by: runningwinegirl | July 28, 2010

Key West Festival at Breaux with the “Va Wine Mafia”

The longer I’m in Virginia the more I grow to love it. The world of wine is amazing here and those planning to attend the wine bloggers conference next year are in for a treat. With every event I attend, I get to try a newly released wine and I’m consistently discovering new and impressive Va wines. Jen Breaux Blosser is a good friend and a few months ago she invited me to the Key West Festival at Breaux Vineyards on July 17, as part of the “Va Wine Mafia.” This was my first time going to this event and well, Breaux really knows how to put on a show.

Upon arrival, I was impressed with the staff in place to help direct us with the parking. Tickets were $25 and included a complimentary tasting of eight wines: 08 Voignier, 09 Madeleine’s Chardonnay, 09 Cabernet Rosé, Equation Merlot “X”, 05 Marquis De Lafayette, 04 Merlot, 09 Jen’s Jambalaya and the 09 Nebbiolo Ice. Guests also had the option to taste the library selection for $5 that included the 01 Lafayette, 02 Cabernet Sauvignon, 02 Merlot Reserve, 03 Nebbiolo and 06 Meritage.  In an effort to keep this short, I’m not reviewing the wines but past posts I’ve written on Breaux cover many of these and I recommend trying them all.

Entering, the blogger community was given tickets, a gift from the winery, and glasses to start the tasting.  I was so excited to see that the Cabernet Rosé  was released and couldn’t wait to taste it again. The first time I tried it was at the end of the Cabernet vertical back in the winter when it was still in the barrel and looked like pink lemonade. That was not the case this time and it’s even better now.  Joining fellow bloggers, @myvinespot and @drinkwhatulike, we went inside for the library tasting before heading to our reserved table.  It was great to enjoy a summer afternoon with friends who are wine lovers and two of my favorite wine bloggers in VA.

Our table consumed the Cabernet Rosé, 09 Madelein Chardonnay and the Equation, Breaux’s version of an everyday Merlot. All are delicious but for the first time I chose a Rosé over a red wine. This is a Cabernet based Rosé that is medium bodied with strawberry on the palate and is a refreshingly fruity but not sweet. I love that it’s not as dry and light like many of the Rosés I’ve tasted.  It is truly one I love and will automatically go to on a hot summer day. There was food but I wasn’t overly impressed with the choices and felt it was on the expensive side.  Earlier this year at Breaux, I got a delicious pulled pork sandwich for $6 and that’s what I was wishing for at this event.

We were blessed with a gorgeous, sunny day filled with great hats, lots of good wine and a conga line at the end of the day. I loved seeing people get into the hat contest and one girl was creative enough to make a hat out of a Frisbee and wine glass. Two great bands, Conscious Vibes, a reggae band and Key West, a Jimmy Buffett tribute band, played throughout the day. There were frisbees and beach balls in the air non-stop giving off the perfect beach vibe to go with the music.  This is a great event, worth going to and I look forward to next year.

Responses

  1. Thanks to a connection made via Twitter my party was able to try the Cab Rose a couple of months ago when visiting Breaux thanks to the hook up by Jen Breaux. We love the Syrah Dry Rose so getting to try the Cab Rose was a great treat.

    • Awesome Doug. Breaux is a great Va winery and get ready for the new releases. Dave is doing great things and we are in for more great wines.


Leave a Reply

Categories

