Posted by: runningwinegirl | July 26, 2010

Cellar 4201 – A young gem in the Yadkin Valley

It’s been far too long since I’ve posted and I admit the job hunt has had me stressed and distracted. However, I managed to escape back to North Carolina this weekend for my birthday and to explore some more of the Yadkin Valley. I’ve been doing my fair share of researching and upon visiting Cellar 4201’s website, I knew it was one I had to visit. I was in love with the setting but also intrigued to see the winery offered a Sangiovese.

Upon arrival at Cellar 4201, I immediately fixed on the grapevines and a beautiful array of rose bushes that were set at the end of each row. Greg Hutchins, the owner, greeted us as we walked towards the tasting room, leading us inside talking about the winery and preparing us for our wine tasting. The tasting room was dark and romantic and like nothing I’ve seen yet.  We learned this husband/wife team started growing grapes back in 2003 but only opened the tasting room a year ago.

We tasted a total of eight wines for a modest price with the glass included. I was pleasantly surprised with the 09 Stainless Steel chardonnay as well as the 06 Chardonnay. I’m not a Chardonnay girl but enjoyed both of these wines. The 09 Chardonnay was medium bodied and had a nice balance of acidity with apple and a smooth, clean finish. The 06 Chardonnay, aged in both French and American Oak barrels for nine months, was buttery with apple and vanilla but not too heavy and overall a refreshing wine.

Onto the reds we went starting with the Sangiovese and it did not disappoint. I learned this wine is a combination of 07 and 08 grapes. In 2007 the winery only produced a small amount but didn’t want to waste it so the 07 was aged for two years in French oak. The 08 vintage was aged for a year and then the two were blended. Greg told us this was his wife’s favorite varietal but also the hardest to grow. This received the first delicious, delicious, delicious on my tasting sheet and a bottle did come home with me.  I loved the dark fruit, medium body and smooth finish. I admit I liked this better than many of the Italian Sangiovese’s I’ve had recently.  The 06 Merlot continued this impressive tasting. Aged in French oak for 10 months, this was medium bodied with black cherries and low tannins. The finish was long and smooth. The 06 Merlot Reserve, aged 20 months in French oak, was a step up from the Merlot with a fuller body and more velvety finish. Again all I have on my tasting notes next to the Reserve is delicious three times. The 06 Cabernet Sauvignon, aged 10 months in French oak, was medium bodied with plum on the palate and a smooth finish. I have many dinners in mind to pair with this wine. The 06 Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve, aged 20 months in French oak, like the Merlot reserve was a step up in body and intensity and I have delicious written twice next to it. We finished with the 06 Sweet Native, a Rosé made from Sangiovese grapes. The fruit balanced well with the medium body for an overall enjoyable Rosé. I could see myself drinking this on the beach or poolside.

Overall I enjoyed every wine I tasted here. We ended the tasting with a bottle of the Sangiovese to enjoy at the winery while I was introduced to my first game where I attempted to throw sandbags onto a cheese shaped box and through the hole. It was a delightful afternoon and I can’t wait to get back to this winery. I definitely recommend visiting this one. You’ll be so happy you did.

Responses

  1. You’ve been corrupted with the Cornhole? It’s all over now! Great to see you enjoying NC wine, and spreading the good word!

    • LOL, Yes Tammy, it’s true, I’ve been corrupted and I love the game! I’m so impressed with NC so far and can’t wait to get back to the Yadkin Valley. Hopefully you can join us one of these days. =)

  2. Who is this “we” that you tasted with? Hmmmm… Sounds like a great place. I’m pretty intrigued by the fact that they’re growing their own grapes. Do you know if the wines you tasted are 100% estate fruit or are they bringing in some from other places too?

    The patio looks like a great place to enjoy a glass with a newfound friend. Looks like they could do some live music there too…

    Cool! Thanks for sharing.

    Josh
    drinknectar

    • Thanks Josh! I think you know who the “we” is in this post. LOL. Yes, looking at my notes, all of the wines we tasted are 100% estate fruit. It’s a gorgeous vineyard and I agree it is impressive they grow the fruit. If you ever make it out this way, this winery is definitely worth checking out.

  3. I love the cornhole game at Cellar 4201. Recently, they brought the game to a mini-wine festival for the Yadkin River Wine Trail, and I got hooked.

    • That’s awesome Brandon! I was excited this past weekend to see cornhole here in VA at a winery. It is addicting =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

