Posted by: runningwinegirl | June 16, 2010

Memorial Day Tweetup at Philip Carter

I love what I’m seeing the wineries do in Virginia when it comes to social media. They are connecting with their audience at great levels and putting on events to bring us all together. Philip Carter Winery is one that recently has stepped up its social networking presence. A week before Memorial Day weekend, I received a DM on Twitter from Philip himself inviting me to a Tweetup for the release of the 2008 Cleve. I was fortunate to meet Rob Cox, the winemaker, a few weeks before and taste the Cleve with him. Needless to say, I was excited at the opportunity to see Rob again and meet Philip.

I’d been told a couple of months ago to check out Philip Carter as they had a new winemaker and it was a good idea to taste the before and after. My first trip was in May on a Saturday late in the day. Philip Carter is open until 8pm on Saturday’s, making it a great place to end a wine tasting day. It was a pretty drive and what was great about this winery is mountains surround it. It was a different but pretty view. We started the tasting and it was on this day that I first met Rob. He gave us his background and the journalist in me started asking questions. Rob was great and more than happy to talk wine with us.

On the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend, I met up with fellow wine bloggers, @wineaccguy and @TLColson for the tweetup and release of the 2008 Cleve. I was thrilled once we arrived to see @vawinetime there. It was great to see Rob Cox, the winemaker, again and to finally meet Philip himself. We started the tweetup with the 2008 Chardonnay which I actually enjoyed. I admit I’m still bored with Chardonnay having had that as my primary wine during my college years. This was crisp with hints of citrus fruit balanced nicely with subtle vanilla notes. Next up was the 08 Governor Fauquier a delightful white with a touch of sweetness. It was light, crisp with apple and a touch of sweetness on the finish. We tasted the 08 Cab Franc next followed by the 08 Cleve. I love this Bordeaux blend. The Cleve is 50% Cabernet Franc, 35% Petit Verdot and 15% Cabernet Sauvignon aged 18 month in French and American oak barrels. In short, this is a big red, smooth with lots of dark fruit and a delicious finish. I loved it the first time I had it and enjoyed even more this time.

The tasting ended with the 08 Late Harvest Vidal that at the time was not available. It has since been released and is winning awards. This wine, as @TLcolson put it, is “dangerous.” I think we all agreed it tasted like fried apples. It was delicious and tasted nothing like an alcoholic beverage. I look forward to having it again. It’s been great to stay in touch with Philip through both Twitter and Facebook. I highly recommend visiting this winery and it’s a fun place to spend a Saturday evening.  For all you big red lovers, the Cleve is a must try and for me, the standout wine of that day. No doubt, we have great things to look forward to from Philip Carter.

Responses

  1. It’s great to see any business taking advantage of marketing, connection and conversational tools like Facebook and Twitter.

    Great work Suzie!

    Josh

  2. Thanks Josh! I agree and I look forward to seeing more wineries participating.

  3. Absolutely agree on the Cleve. That wine alone makes me want to go back to Philip-Carter.

    And that late harvest Vidal WAS dangerous. Rob put that bottle in front of me and too much of it was gone way too fast!

  4. They do not include Cleve in their tastings anymore. I was there a week ago.


Leave a Reply

Categories

