Posted by: runningwinegirl | March 5, 2010

A night of tasting & discovering Sauvignon Blanc via Twitter

I continue to love the different ways social media brings people together. Last night I participated in the #SauvBlanc tasting via Twitter with wine enthusiasts from all over. @RickBakas, director of social media marketing for @stsupery organizes these tastings and last night’s event was another example of how wine and social media bring people together.

As a girl who primarily drinks red wine, Sauvignon Blanc is hands down my favorite white wine. I love it coming off the ski slopes, sitting out on a hot summer day or when I just want something refreshing to pair with chicken or seafood. Last night I decided to venture off my normal New Zealand course and opened the 07 Domaine Guenault Touraine from the Loire Valley of France. On the nose I got hints of lemon and grapefruit. On the palate it was crisp with lemon, mineral and well balanced acidity.  The grapefruit finish was long and delicious just as I like it. I’ll be adding this to my wine fridge as a regular selection. My favorites are Kim Crawford, Whitehaven, Villa Maria, Monkey Bay and Matua. If like me, you’re looking to explore a new region, this is a great selection at the $10 price. It won’t disappoint and it went perfectly with my marinated grilled chicken.

 The best part of the night was not only connecting with new people but learning about new wines. I discovered so many California Sauvignon Blancs, I need to get shopping. Clearly I have a bias for New Zealand and need to explore other regions for this great white wine. Online tastings like this are a fun way to expand your wine knowledge. So many wineries are utilizing social media to connect directly with consumers. Don’t let Twitter intimidate you. Simply follow the hashtag for these tastings and jump into the conversation! Wine is all about what you like and what you taste. The next tasting is of different blends on April 1. Come join in with fellow wine enthusiasts. You never know what you’ll learn and who you’ll meet. =)

Did you participate last night?

Responses

  1. Considering your faves lineup almost exactly as mine I think I’ll give this new one a try, thanks!

  2. What a fun idea! I’ll be sure to pick this up for my next hostess gift! xoxo


Leave a Reply

Categories

