Posted by: runningwinegirl | May 9, 2012

A Delicious Pinot Noir Discovery for this Full-Bodied Wine Drinker

I will always remember the first time @Sipthegoodlife reached out to me a few years ago on Twitter. It was from that communication that I started learning about The Sustainability In Practice (SIP) Certified program that grew from decades of people striving to understand and implement sustainable farming practices.  It is also how I continue to learn about new wines that aren’t widely distributed.  As I started writing this post, it hit me that I’ve tasted six SIP Certified wines that include Pomar Junction, Halter Ranch and Ampelos.

It was on March 15, Central Coast Wine day (#CCWineDay) where I learned about another SIP Certified wine from Hahn SLH Estate.  My twitter stream was exploding with compliments from wine drinkers/bloggers about how good the Pinot Noir tasted. I’m thankful @SiptheGoodLife tweeted at me with the hashtag to make sure I was aware of the day.  I ended up enjoying Pomar Juntion’s  07 Syrah for the event but my curiosity peaked at seeing the response to this Pinot.  I’m very picky when it comes to Pinot Noir and often, it’s too earthy or too light bodied for my palate. When I received a direct message from @HahnWines offering to send me a bottle, I was flattered and of course accepted.

That was two months ago and it was only last week that I finally opened the Hahn SLH Estate 2010 Pinot Noir and wow I had no idea what I was in for with this wine. It was a warm Sunday evening and one of my favorite ways to end the weekend is to curl up outside on my balcony with a glass of wine and a good book. When I first poured this wine it was this gorgeous dark granite red. The nose was earthy at first with a little bell pepper. After a couple of swirls, I could tell it was opening up and I got plenty of dark fruit. On the palate, it was still a tad tight but fuller bodied then most Pinot’s I’ve had from California, which was a pleasant surprise. I  enjoyed two glasses that Sunday night and closed up the wine and into the refrigerator it went and stayed until Wednesday night. After a busy day at work and a great workout, I remembered it was still in there and decided to pour myself a glass while cooking dinner.

I right away saw a difference in this wine after three days. It was delicious with raspberries, cola and a little earth on the palate. I paired it that night with gourmet hamburgers I created with a creamy Syrah soaked cheese, BBQ sauce and various seasonings. It paired beautifully with the food and I actually tweeted that night with a picture it was drinking better than the first night. Needless to say, I look forward to another bottle of this wine and I’m hearing good things about 2011.

A huge thank you to @HahnWines for sharing a bottle of this with me, which led me to check out their website to learn more about the winery. I was unaware of all the wines within the Hahn Family Wines but the Pinot from the (Santa Lucia Highlands) SLH vineyards is something I plan to have in my wine fridge again. I definitely recommend trying this if you haven’t yet as it won’t disappoint.  I look forward to trying more wines from the Hahn Family Wines  and in the meantime, it’s time to plan a trip to visit California.

Responses

  1. I love full bodied Pinot Noir’s but they are not always that easy to find and if they are found usually not exactly cheap. My favorite is Oregon’s Lachini Vineyards but at $40.00+ a pop not my every day go to wine :)
    After reading your post I look forward to giving HAHN a try.
    Thank you.
    Ernest.

  2. Thank you Ernest! I enjoyed your post on the Chilean Pinot. You are right sadly, many full bodied Pinot Noirs aren’t price friendly. I love Oregon Pinots and will have to give the one you mention a try. Let me know what you think once you try Hahn. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

