Posted by: runningwinegirl | October 28, 2010

Enjoying VA Wine Month – Sunday Doggy Wine Day at Narmada

It’s been a crazy couple of weeks and I can’t believe October is almost over. Sunday’s are normally for hiking/wine adventures but this last week wore me out and happily my hiking companion agreed to have a lazy Sunday of wine tasting. I got a seven mile run in using that time to figure out where to go for the day – yes, that’s still lazy for me lol. I had received a note on Facebook earlier in the week from my friend, who is also part of the duo known as Chatham Street, saying they’d be playing at Narmada. I always pass that winery when driving to Old Rag and decided it was time to see what it was all about and say hello to my friends.

Narmada is in Amissville and not far past Gray Ghost Winery. When pulling into the long driveway, I wasn’t sure what to expect but upon parking and looking around, all you could see were beautiful views and fall colors. I was thrilled to see Baxter could sit outside with us. The winery is pet friendly as long as dogs are on leashes and they don’t go inside the tasting room. I left Baxter in the car with water and the windows down. Tastings are short & I told him I’d be right back, which had him smiling. I was happy to see others doing the same thing and we all commented we’d be back fast to get our dogs.

Walking up to the tasting room, the winery was decked out for Halloween and my friends of Chatham Street were walking out while setting up to perform later that day. Walking inside, we were greeted and I was in love with the beauty and comfort of the tasting room. Winter is coming and I’m always looking for wineries with lots of indoor seating as well as outdoor. Narmada has a gorgeous tasting room with plenty of tables and a stage for live music. I also had the pleasure of catching up on football with the flat screen TV that was playing the Redskins game.

The tasting consisted of 10 wines; five red and four whites with the choice of either the red dessert wine or white for $5. If we wanted to keep the glass the tasting was $7.  The tasting started with Chardonnay aged in French Oak for nine months and going through partial malolactic fermentation. I got apple and butter on the nose and on the palate tasted apple and touch of oak that was perfectly balanced and delicious. I’m not a big Chardonnay fan but this was wonderful. Next was the Viognier aged seven months in French Oak. This had a floral nose and I tasted melon on my palate. It was a refreshing wine. Mom was the name of the next wine and this is a Vidal Blanc/Chardonel blend dedicated to all mothers. I loved this off-dry white that was full of tropical fruit. My favorite of the whites was the last one of the group, the Traminette. Fermented in stainless steel, this had a floral nose and I have delicious written three times next to it. It was fruity but not sweet and it made me want cheese.

The first wine for the reds was the Gulabi, a Rosé that is a blend of Merlot and the Concord grape. The Concord only comes out slightly on the palate otherwise this is a medium bodied Rosé that to me tasted like cherry pie. With food I think this will be wonderful. Reflection was next and this is 100 percent Chambourcin. I enjoyed this wine although it is lighter in body but has plenty of dark fruit. The Mélange, a blend of 60% Cabernet Sauvignon and 40% Merlot was next. Yes, this is my favorite out of all the wines. I love my big reds and this was delicious. I tasted lots of dark fruit including raspberries with a long, velvety finish.  The Cabernet Franc was also delicious with just a touch of spice but overall smooth with black cherry and raspberry. The reds ended with Midnight, an off-dry Chambourcin with 1.5% residual sugar. This is the perfect wine to make Sangria.

I had a chance to meet Sudha, who owns the winery with her husband, and enjoyed talking to her about the winery and her plans. She let me know around Father’s Day next year the winery will release its first Port, first to wine club members. She also filled me in on the differences between the two dessert wines, which I appreciated as it lead me to decide on the white wine. My friend went with the red, which apparently goes well with chocolate. I’ll trust people telling me that since I don’t like chocolate. The white dessert wine was amazing. Not too syrupy and not too sweet. I have delicious written three times next to it.

The tasting ended with a glass of the Mélange and I decided to try one of the Indian dishes. This winery has an impressive list of food options and I noticed that everyone was buying not only wine but also ordering food. It’s not expensive and all looked delicious. Choices range from Indian fare to gourmet cheeses and meats. I had the Aloo Tikki, two handmade spicy mashed potato and vegetable cakes with an Indian yogurt sauce for $5. It was so yummy and went well with my wine although the spices paired even better with the Traminette. Baxter joined us on the gorgeous deck while we listened to Chatham Street play. I first saw this Duo at Paradise Springs earlier this summer and try to see them whenever I can. They just released their first album with all original songs they wrote.

I am so happy I finally made it to Narmada and it was the perfect place to enjoy the gorgeous, warm day we had last Sunday. Everyone was so friendly and the staff was delightful.  The winery is still fairly new and has only been around for a year. It’s a perfect place to go to relax or stop by when heading back from Shenandoah National Park. Gray Ghost and Gadino Cellars are also close by making for a fun day of wine tours. I can’t wait to go back and recommend visiting.

Responses

  1. […] Narmada Vineyards – This winery has a wonderful setup for musicians along with awesome Indian food and oh yes, delicious wines. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

